View Full Version : Like a virgin, hey!

Eapple
06-11-14, 09:06 AM
Hi everyone, as titled I am very new to treating my diagnosis of adult add.

Last year was when I first got the diagnosis. I wrote my doc a letter because I felt like just talking to him I wouldn't remember everything and my thoughts wouldn't sound as organized as they do when I write. It basically outlined that I was miserable but didn't think I was depressed. I felt overwhelmed, had zero focus, concentration, patience, or tolerance for stress. Yet I didn't feel sad. I felt pathetic, but not sad. I was unhappy with my life and obviously upset about that but as far as depression goes I was sure that wasn't it. We discussed the letter, we did a series of personality tests, and to my shock he offered up ADD as a diagnosis and wrote me a script for concerta. I never filled it and let things escalate over the year.

Fast forward to two weeks ago when I saw my doc and happily filled the script freeing myself of any guilt for something that is beyond my control. I've seen a psychologist, biofeedback therapist, and immersed myself in a ten month yoga teacher training program that has a large component of meditation. Nothing was working so I finally gave myself permission to get better. I am so glad I filled it!

I got the script for 18mg and didn't notice much of a difference. My hubby noted that I backed into the drive way, something I never do, and that I didn't over react when he flicked water at me after doing dishes. Not sure that the med would help with that but it seemed to affect my mood very subtly.