View Full Version : Help with my Roommate?

beachguy73
06-15-14, 07:34 PM
Hi everyone! This is my first post on this forum, so I apologize if it's in the wrong section. With that being said, I could really use your advice.

One of my new roommates has ADD. He's a really nice guy, but he's dirty. VERY dirty. Whenever he cooks, he simply puts his used pots, pans, dishes and anything else he used in the sink without washing them. He never even bothers to check and see if the dishwasher is empty. The worst part is when he leaves his dirty, smelly, crusty socks in the bathroom after taking a shower. Yuck!

Whenever I get on him about cleaning up after himself, he blames it on his ADD. My other roommates accept his excuse and clean up after him (4 of us in a 4-bedroom house), but I refuse to do the same. The only time I'll wash something he used is if I need it to cook. I'm a college student working 2 summer jobs (intern at an accounting firm and weekend laborer for a construction company), and I HATE coming home after a 10-12 hour shift of hard labor in the hot sun to a sink overflowing with dishes -- especially if I'm planning on cooking.

I consider myself a really nice guy. I treat people how they treat me. He's never yelled at me or been rude to me; and I've returned the favor. I've done some research on ADD, but I haven't been able to establish a direct link to cleanliness (or lack thereof). However, my patience is wearinh thin. I just need to know: Is he using his ADD as a cop-out, or is it just my ignorance? If it's the latter, then I apologize in advance to anyone I may have offended.

Thank you for your help!

namazu
06-15-14, 08:33 PM
People with ADHD do often have difficulty with distractibility, impulsivity, and organization that make us look (and live) like slobs.