View Full Version : ADD Creative Writers: What has helped you?

Addesso
06-17-14, 04:59 AM
So I've come to the realization that probably my career calling has to be storytelling. It's taken an extremely long time to get to this point, so I'm glad that one part of this life puzzle has been figured out. Unfortunately, writing is probably the most difficult challenge that I've ever faced. I've read a few posts here recently from ADD writers and would love to know what guides worked for you, practices you have, etc, etc.

Plus side is that when I am able to finish a written piece, they're actually very well done and well received, but it takes me an agonizingly long time to get done. Hell, even writing a simple reply to an email can take an hour (and by the way, I've spent a majority of my waking day just writing several replies to only a handful of posts on this forum). I'm mostly self-taught from countless books, essays, and scripts I've read, and have only really taken one "formal creative writing class": a screenwriting course in college. I can organize and structure a thesis or story very well, and film colleagues regularly come to me for story and structure critique. And I have more ideas than I know what to do with.

But the hitch is that even with all the planning and outlining ready to go, when it actually comes down to pulling words out of my head and chaining them together into compelling sentences and paragraphs, my mind slows to a crawl. Sometimes I'll just stare at the last word I typed wondering. Or constantly edit/delete the same sentence over and over. I get that some of this is probably a perfectionist streak, and I should just be ok with calling it a draft and going back later to fix things after letting it cool down for a while.