View Full Version : Odd ADHD Inattentive Type Situation

Kodoka
06-21-14, 05:36 AM
First, I'd just like to apologize if I'm posting this in the wrong location, but due to the odd nature of the question, I couldn't quite decide where it would properly fit.

I have been diagnosed with ADHD inattentive type by a local psychologist. The story of how this happened is that after struggling to focus in many aspects all my life, I decided to see if perhaps I had a learning disorder. As a college student, my resources are limited, so I went to a government run organization, vocational rehabilitation. They sent me to a psychologist, and after an almost eight hour testing process and a two week wait, I was told that I had ADHD. Unfortunately the psychologist cannot prescribe any form of treatment, so I attempted to get the report stating that I had ADHD so I could take it to someone that could prescribe treatment. The psychologist will not release the report to me, though. I spoke with the lady working my VR case, and she said that they would release the record to me if the psychologist would allow it, but he won't. My question is does anyone have any idea why he may not release the record to me?

silivrentoliel
06-21-14, 01:52 PM
some doctors won't release a patient's medical records to the patient... but they often have no problem releasing them to another medical professional. try finding someone that will prescribe you the meds and then try to get your psychologist to send the stuff to them

Lunacie
06-21-14, 02:46 PM
Here's what I found about requesting your medical records: