View Full Version : A rant then a question.

finallyfound10
07-11-14, 01:07 PM
Of all the people in the world to continue to be in school it should not be me!! I LOVE to learn but the constraints of studying for a test, homework, writing papers, etc. My ADHD-I and Dyscalculia and throw low self-esteem, anxiety and depression into the mix, it's a living hell!!

If I had it to do over, I never would have gone back to RN school but I truly thought it was a God-thing in that that He was leading me that way. Maybe it was though, it's not his fault that I had a breakdown when I couldn't handle the first program and failed out. I never would've gotten diagnosed with ADHD-I and Dyscalulia and met you nice people!! :D

I'm studying now for the big dog- my RN exam, the NCLEX!! I honestly don't think I will pass the first time. It has a somewhat high first time fail rate so I'm in good company!

Why do I think I'm failing it?? There are a few situations in my life where I've had a very, very, very sure feeling of the outcome and they have all been correct and I have the same feeling here. There are other more "normal" reasons as well like simply not being able to remember some key labs values and other stuff no matter how many times I look at them!

Any study tips??? Any any kind of tips??? The NT's on the RN sites don't get it like you do! Thanks!!

Fuzzy12
07-11-14, 01:29 PM
Which problems exactly are you facing when studying apart from remembering values?

One thing that got me through uni was to memorise everything using associations. I used to make up little stories that incorporated each value in a list that I had to remember. I don't know what type your values are but for instance if you've got "Calcium, Potassium, Magnesium" you could make up a story like:

"Calcium had big teeth, which disturbed him while smoking pot(assium). He tried to increase the size of his cigarettes with a magnifying glass but unfortunately that didn't work."