View Full Version : Attraction to Fear

BellaVita
07-29-14, 10:12 PM
Disclaimer: I'm no expert in this, this is just something I did for fun and wanted to discuss. Please keep that in mind.

I've realized I have this weird sort of attraction to a certain glance.

David Archuleta in particular does this glance well, and I have posted several pictures of some examples of this "glance."

[you'll probably get it once you read the bolded sections]

http://i59.tinypic.com/2l9l0k6.png

Here he was pitchy, and his voice displayed fear response in tone. Not sure if expression is good enough to count as fear expression. Added because ties in with attraction to fear expression.
http://i58.tinypic.com/11kgti9.png

http://i62.tinypic.com/jfj9yb.png

In this one, David takes a gasping breath, where full shoulders move, same time eyes open wide and jaw drops eyebrows raise - :
http://i59.tinypic.com/4jrgwi.png
http://i57.tinypic.com/29m1sft.png
http://i59.tinypic.com/3520jdv.png

Here, David quickly glanced to the side eyes wide as he realized his band messed up for a moment[in clip, right as the facial expression occurs, you hear his voice change in pitch with a big breath and nervous/shaky vocal sound after]:
http://i62.tinypic.com/2iiilfl.png
http://i62.tinypic.com/160eywm.png

The pic below may not fit in the category, but I noticed the eyes wide thing and not sure if somehow related:
http://i59.tinypic.com/21l79zl.png

Possible break-up scene:
http://i60.tinypic.com/2urwfgo.jpg

So what do these photos seem to have in common?

I decided to look into human expression, facial expressions/Microexpressions.

description for certain expression:
-eyes wide/eyebrows raised/open/jaw dropped =

Fear

What I perceive also:

-Communicating openness*

-Vulnerability*

-Slight instability*

Lots of these pictures were scenes acted out, some genuine quick fear moments, all common in fear response expression/whatever microexpression or however it's properly termed.