View Full Version : The slow torture commonly known as "school"

Wedding42515
08-03-14, 06:27 PM
I'm a student. I am not good at it. I'm smart, very smart, but a terrible student. But, it's what I need to do to get where I want to be.

It's almost the end of classes, and as usual I am behind and scrambling. I feel guilty and stressed, and I'm frustrated to tears. At the same time, if I fail I'll feel worse.

Ugh

Eaaqas
08-04-14, 12:11 PM
Hey wedding, I know EXACTLY how you feel. It took me getting my diagnosis to be able to work through some of the problems.

Just remember that us with ADHD are GREAT at cramming -- it seems to be a coping mechanism that a lot of us develop naturally. :)

If you want any advice PM me. I've taken some time to think of some mechanisms that have helped me not completely fail out of school. I'd love to help if you have any questions :). I'm in my last semester and applying to Economics PhD programs! :)

vpilar
08-04-14, 01:09 PM
I'm a student. I am not good at it. I'm smart, very smart, but a terrible student. But, it's what I need to do to get where I want to be.

It's almost the end of classes, and as usual I am behind and scrambling. I feel guilty and stressed, and I'm frustrated to tears. At the same time, if I fail I'll feel worse.

Ugh

Try to get around it in a way. Try to get yourself motivated... Tell yourself you must do it! and find a way to do it. Whatever works for you, it could be different form what works for others.
Take some time, and think about what should be done, and what are the reasons that are preventing you to get things done and what would be the best solution for getting something out of what you can do.
Considering this combination (what should be done, and what you can't do), make a plan. The plan could include both things that should be done in the future, to prevent this to happen again, and the lists of immediate actions required to get things done in the limited timeline!