View Full Version : I love mathematics and I think you can too

Eaaqas
08-04-14, 01:39 PM
Hi all,

I think that in lieu of another post in this section, I would give some advice about pursuing a mathematics intensive degree. I hope to see something of this sort stickied someday (though please don't sticky this thread.. it is not well written).

I took a lot of time to write this post, so I really do hope it helps some of you feel better. I want everyone to be able to succeed.

I really hope this post helps you. If you have any questions feel free to PM me.

I have separated this into a few unlabeled sections. First, I describe the reasons I hate math in hopes to relate. Second, I explain why I love mathematics at a deeper level. Finally, I explain my personal experience.

I am currently studying Economics with a minor in Mathematics. I'll be heading to graduate school in Econ next year.

As I progressed through mathematics, I noted 3 issues that I hated -- arithmetic was too prevalent, math seemed to be about the "tricks" that I can never remember, and Math does NOT apply to real life.

8+5? I can't do it without my fingers. 13*15? I can't do it without pen and paper.

Prove that x^2+3x+2 is a continuous function? Well, if you let epsilon>0 and take an epsilon ball around x..

You get my point -- I LOVE mathematics. I HATE arithmetic.

The biggest problem that I have with mathematics is how much I will use what I learn later in life. In my adolescence I asked my teachers TOO OFTEN "when am I ever going to use this?" with the oh so common answer, "well, when you are a physicist or engineer!" In college my favorite thing is trying to make a mathematician explain to me how some crazy property applies to economics. They stumble so much it makes me laugh. Luckily I have seen where some things I thought didn't relate actually do in very important ways.