View Full Version : Does medication change your hobbies/interests?

Saelethil
08-09-14, 12:50 AM
I'm brand new to all of this and am recently self diagnosed as ADHD-I (Though I've assumed I've had ADD my whole life). I'm hesitant to go on medication, even though it seems like large parts of my life would be improved by doing so, for one reason. I am very fond of video games and I realized that one of the reasons I enjoy them so much is that I am able to focus on them in a way I cannot focus on anything else. I think this is because so many senses/thought processes are being engaged at the same time when you are playing games that its difficult for my mind to get bored. My worry is that if I get medicated I will find myself able to focus on other things and games will lose their appeal. There are lots of other things I love about games and so much of who I am and how I present myself to other people is tied up in this one hobby that I would hate for it to fade into the background just because it isnt unique in holding my attention. Does anyone else have an experience with this and would in like to chime in with what happened to them after going on medication? What type of medication would also be nice to know. Thanks in advance!

sarahsweets
08-09-14, 05:31 AM
My opinion is that if any med changes you that much then its the wrong med.

Darkneko
08-09-14, 06:29 AM
If a medacine does change you that much, you should ask your provider for other options. I don't think any of my favourite interests have changed. Its harder to be creative in a random way but easier to plan art and such. It all down to circumstance really. It doesn't change my passion or my drive to do what I love.

Pilgrim
08-10-14, 06:09 AM
I only found that hobbies I already loved became more interesting. I tried out a couple of other ones and picked one up.
I found hobbies to can be beneficial when coming down off meds.

I take Concerta.
Goodluck

flubio123
08-15-14, 11:43 PM