View Full Version : Help Please. At wits end with 11 yr old ADHD stepson

BgDadee
08-11-14, 02:12 AM
Like the title says I am at my wits end with my stepson. A little about me I am a US Army veteran, raised by a US Navy Seabee Veteran/Construction worker. I was raised to be very self reliant. When your told to do something you got it done or there was consequences. Common sense was a must in my family and my adult life.

I have two kids from my first marriage who I raised like I was raised. My oldest is my daughter and my youngest is my son. If I was to die tomorrow I know they would continue to prosper and excel in their lives. They have a great amount of common sense. My second wife(in name only) not married yet has two children also, her oldest is a boy, 11 yrs old(he is the one with the ADHD) and a daughter who is 7(non ADHD but plays into brothers problems). I have tried everything to get thru to this boy. He does not listen, he is the most irresponsible boy I have ever seen in my life and has not one lick of common sense. I am acually afraid for this boy that he will do something stupid , or not think his actions thru and either end hurting himself badly or killing himself.

My son and I are very outdoorsy types, we like to hunt, fish, and other outdoor stuff. After taking him out to do different things I stopped taking him along. Due to his lack of common sense he turns outdoor trips from fun to a job. I refuse let him anywhere near a rifle or a weapon of any kind due to this lack of common sense. When I stopped I got asked why I stopped by the wife. I explain it to her and she goes he needs to be shown but I have shown and explained more times than I count. How many times does it take for someone to understand not to do things that are going to get him hurt or someone else hurt or possibly killed?