View Full Version : ADHD under control and now... depression? oh great...

heylookacastle!
09-05-14, 11:14 AM
I have been attempting to get my ADHD under control for two years and during this time I tapered off Zoloft and immediately went into depression denial.

I have had 3 significant episodes of major depression in the past 10 years and I became convinced that everything could be fixed if I just got my ADHD under control (after being diagnosed 2 years ago).

I started Adderall, got off Zoloft and Clonazapam, only to start experiencing little to no effect from the Adderall that had gotten me so far in tackling my ADHD.

I tried every other medication for ADHD available in Canada and Adderall XR was by the best but whenever my symptoms get under control... this low level feeling of hopelessness sneaks in and I am unable to shake it.

I metabolize Adderall XR crazy fast and require 3x daily doses.

I just gave a sample to a genetic study a few days ago to confirm the above statement and to help determine what anti-depressant would be good to add to the Adderall.

I'm just soooo frustrated.

I became so focused on my ADHD and so convinced that I didn't need anti-depressants or anti-anxiety meds because I have spent the majority of my life getting poor results from them thanks to all of the doctors missing or refusing take ADHD seriously.

I'm so god damn fed up with psychiatrists, medications, and misdiagnoses.

I'm sick of getting somewhere with one or the other (stimulant or anti-depressant), only to have the ADHD or the depression rear it's ugly head.

Now I am faced with restarting an SSRI or an SNRI as well as some possible genetic factors that could interfere with how I react to all of them (thank god I am only waiting on results that will finally determine what is what...)

I'm stressed, frustrated, and feeling like an idiot for denying one or the other.