View Full Version : They keep adjusting my medicine and can't find the right thing- HELP!

ehosch
09-30-14, 10:01 AM
Okay- here the story. I was on 18 mg of concerta for 18 months and then they upped it to 27mg. That was working fine until this semester:

I'm a college senior, I work 4 jobs to pay for school, I'm a student leader for a club, I'm a youth leader AND I have a full course load (mostly night classes) I NEED meds that work for my to survive this semester. My days start at 5 am and end at 10 pm.

The campus doctor first had me taking two 27mg extended release, one in the AM and one in the afternoon but I had HORRIBLE disassociation.

Now I have one 27 mg concerta and one short acting Ritalin 20 mg. She is letting me decide when during the day I take them to find what works for me. So far- nothing is.

I LOVE the Ritalin, except it wears off FAST and HARD. I go from productively working on HW, Listening in class, etc and then boom. I feel depressed tired and unmotivated.

I don't want to switch again because it's really effecting my school work but I feel like I need to.

My biggest problem is the mood swings- I go from HIGHS to low low LOWS really fast and I can't predict it.

What are your suggestions?

sarahsweets
09-30-14, 10:37 AM
Maybe the methylphenidate class of drugs isn't suited for y you and amphetamines would be better.

Corina86
10-01-14, 02:44 AM
You're working too hard. No amount of medication can substitute lack of sleep and rest.

palmtree_23
10-03-14, 09:36 PM
I cant help but find that what you experiencing is really just a normal human response. I thought the point of medication for add/adhd is to bring your mind back up to a normal level. The fact that you cant keep up with 4 jobs and school is perfectly normal.

You could truely have an attention problem but from what you've said I dont think you have any problem at all, except for the fact that you've taken on way to much for one person.