View Full Version : Vent Thread

Uberend
10-21-14, 03:09 AM
Vent thread. I always post a vent thread because I think it's good to get your feelings out there and not let them fester and build - nasty business

I got diagnosed two years ago and at the start I was actually relieved. But my lofty ambitions and faith in medication soon wore off and I'm starting to realise now that life isn't going to be as easy as taking a heavy dose of methylphenidate. Based on the career thread on here and my experiences as an undergraduate, I feel like I'm going to hit a brick wall in my late 20s where things will just become unmanageable. I feel infuriated because things like being on time, being in a functional relationship or even holding down a steady job seem out of reach.

I have just finished college and I feel like my life is over.

Any one else need a good old f**king rant?

Uberend
10-21-14, 03:10 AM
I definitely have SCT

Pilgrim
10-21-14, 06:38 AM
You will be surprised what a good mental attitude will do. I was like you believing the medication will fix everything. My Psyciatrist said to me routine for you is very important.
I appreciate your challenges that's why I responding to this thread.
Your going where I want to go. There are some other tricks to keep afloat. Have you tried mentor or coach.

Raye
10-21-14, 11:54 AM
Recently and surprisingly, only one vent
right now.

The SSA and how backed up they are with
appeals and hearings.

eclectic beagle
10-21-14, 11:57 AM
Vent threads always seem to descend into mass paranoia. I hope this one is different.

Crosswired
10-21-14, 12:05 PM
Hi Uberend. I was undiagnosed up until age 34. After barely graduating college, I managed to get an entry-level position at a major bank. At this point I thought that maybe all I needed was to mature and take things seriously. Little did I know that I was doomed to fail because of a hidden disability that everyone, including myself, only saw as laziness.