View Full Version : looking for an ADHD-aware primary care dr. near Tempe/Phoenix

michaelaisabell
10-23-14, 05:35 PM
hello, this is my first time using this forum so if I do something weird forgive me :)
ok so here my history. I was misdiagnosed with depression as a teen and young adult then in my twenties I was given a diagnosis of "mood disorder NOS" basically saying I have a mood disorder but they don't know what it is because I don't fit the criteria for depression or bipolar etc. I was determined SMI (seriously mentally ill) at that point and tried on about 100 different bipolar meds that only made my problem worse and had horrible side effects. probably because I don't actually have bipolar disorder.

recently I saw a very good psychologist whom came highly reccomemded. I went to her with the suspicion that I might have been misdiagnosed and that I actually have ADHD. after getting a history, talking to me and my family members, some forms, etc. she decidided that I do have ADHD and that I was misdiagnosed all this time.
I have been working with her on ways to improve my orginazational skills, avoiding procrastination (which im doing right now btw) and working on my impulsive outbursts when im stressed.

ok so long story short because I was deteremined SMI and the way Medicaid works here for people who are SMI I cannot get into a psychiatrist for a few months. (I have to be case managed and see a psych dr. at a specific location in order to get meds but I closed my case a few years back when I didn't want to be on bipolar meds anymore. so not im reopening my case but I cant get into the dr for a few months because they are soo backed up)

ok so again long story short I want to try medication but I need to go to a pcp who will accept the diagnosis from my psychologist and help me get on meds until I can be in the care of the psych dr in jan.