View Full Version : Career Confusion

neetah
11-05-14, 03:27 AM
So I have changed careers 3 or 4 times now. Yet ive never actually had a proper job. Only menial jobs whilst I studied and tried to figure out what i wanted to do in life.

I have had a lot of interesting career ideas, and been passionate about many hobbies, but i never followed through with any of them until the very end.

Finally I committed to doing a degree... I chose anthropology, i was really passionate about it and it has taken me 4 years to get to the end.

Its my first real big accomplishment. So I thought i would feel happy and proud. But now right at the very end i feel like i am starting to hate it and lose interest completely. I feel insecure about my lack of job prospects and have no idea what I want to do with this degree.

I have 3 major essays to go till the end of my degree and I am falling asleep at my desk. How could I have dedicated 4 years of my life to something that now bores me so much.

I am already 30 and have built no future for myself.

Am i destined to lose interest in everything i pursue for the rest of my life. I feel like everything I have ever been passionate about has just been a passing phase and I have never been able to turn any of my passions into a living.

11-05-14, 11:37 AM
Same problem, really. I lose interest in everything I try to do, but even faster than you. 27 years old, and the longest period I managed to work was 8 months. In university I wanted to drop it each month, and each time it was a different idea.
Finally, I managed to finish my second university(I droped from the first one), I would drop it to, but there was a girl I really liked and we were good friends, so I went and studied each day only to see her. I wasn't going in the days she wouldn't come, I finished it with good grades.