View Full Version : Quick question about dexedrine.

Musiscience
12-02-14, 01:20 PM
Hi there! It has been quite a long time since my last post, at least a couple of years. Glad to be back though, I will try to be more present around these parts in the near future :)!

Here is a quick background of the dilemma I am facing at the moment. For the last 2 years I have not taken any ADHD medication and I am currently doing my masters degree. I have been quite fine for all this time except for the last 2 or 3 weeks where I lost my motivation, energy and concentration. This loss of motivation followed a very rough month of non-stop work and study and I was blaming it on tiredness, but was nervous since I didn't gain back my energy and final exams are approaching. Also, I will say that my grades are above average without medication and I have usually no huge problems on most days to sit down and do my work.

I have just been prescribed dexedrine 5mg 2x a day by my doctor by my demand because of the loss of concentration I just mentioned. I am now on my 4th day of treatment. The problem is, I don't really like it or how it is affecting me. I have been doing sports 4 times a week for a long time and now I can't even hit the gym because when I do I feel weak and out of breath. Also, it has been helping me to do my work for the first day but now I just feel weird and confused, in a non-concentrated way.

Here are the questions I am asking myself at the moment :

-Will I get withdrawal symptoms if I stop the medication now after 3 and a half day of treatment at 10mg a day? If so, how long will it last, I have 3 big final exams in exactly one week :eek: . I have been reading that some of you had bad withdrawal symptoms for months after taking the medication and the last thing I want now is a rebound effect before my exams. For example, being even less concentrated than I was before I took the medication.