View Full Version : Having problems with strattera... Need help please.

Sweet24
12-06-14, 12:37 AM
Hello, I am new to this sight and am looking for support and help from some great people who know exactly what I am going through! I'm very excited I found this sight! I don't know anyone personally who I can talk to about my ADHD and how and what I am feeling. So here goes my first question. :)

I am a 23 year old mother of two beautiful little girls! One is 4 and the other is 6weeks. I was diagnosed with ADHD as a child and took medicine for it up until about age 10, where my mother took me off. I do not know her reasoning. Well it's been over 10 years since I have had any kind of ADHD medicine. I asked my mom to get me back on medicine in HS but she refused and said it was all in my head... After that I never tried to get back on any medicine.

Since becoming a mom of 2 my ADHD has gotten 10X worse to where my hyper activity is completely out of control, which isn't good when your a mom of two!(well for me it isn't) well I went to my primary care doctor and he prescribed me Strattera. I was sooo excited to be able to get my hyperactivity under control and to be able to focus and get my life back on track.

I was prescribe 18MG if strattera once a day. I've been on it for 11 days so far. I have NEVER been so tired in my life!!!!(my 6week old only wakes up once a night, so she has nothing to do with how tired I am) anyways I feel like a zombie!!! I cannot stay awake!!!! This is not an option since I am a stay at home mom of a 4yr old and a 6week old. Her is a list of the side effects I've been experiencing since being on this medicine for 11 days.