View Full Version : Angry little boy

Careee
12-17-14, 01:22 PM
I'm not sure if anyone has any advice or has dealt with this sort of situation before...? I'm new to this as we have 5 year old boy who has recently been diagnosed with ADHD. Whilst we have been given a number of behavioural techniques which seem to be working t a degree in school and at home, we are struggling with his angry outbursts.
The latest one happened today when I was walking him and his two sisters (6yrs & 2yrs) back from school. He was racing with his older sister down the hill and being that bit older she just beat him too their finish line. I couldn't get there in time but I saw him go for her. When I got to them, she was in tears - he'd grabbed her by the shoulders and banged her head back against the brick wall behind them. I was (naturally!) furious and said something to that effect before tending to my eldest daughter. By the time I looked up, my son had disappeared. After much searching and checking of a nearby hall I found him hiding up a tree. I just about managed to coax him down and get him home and he is now in his room for the rest of the night (partly cos I am so cross that I think it would make matters worse if he was around me now but obviously also because he needs to understand what he did was wrong).
I feel so helpless in these situations (it's not the first time) and also embarrassed - other mums watching & I feel like saying - it's not what it seems - he isn't just being naughty and I have got control and I have set boundaries!!!