View Full Version : Ritalin and Impression on others

Chickenbot
12-18-14, 01:07 AM
So I can't seem to find a thread addressing this issue so I thought I'd raise it here.
Does anyone else worry about how others perceive them while on Ritalin? I work in retail and take Ritalin during work days. I've noticed that both customers and co-workers seem to notice that something is up with me.

Co-workers (who don't know I take Ritalin) have noticed me focusing intently on a task or multi-tasking efficiently and have jokingly commented, "Woah, easy there! You sure you haven't taken too much speed/cocaine this morning?"

Customers have sometimes been unusually polite after noticing me in a zombie/spaced out state when serving them.

Does anyone else here worry that other people think you are unusual or on an illicit drug while you are on Ritalin? Are there any tips on how to manage your demeanour while the medication is taking its effect?

sarahsweets
12-23-14, 05:46 AM
I haven't taken Ritalin for years but I've noticed with stimulants sometimes it can make you hyper aware of stuff around you which would include thinking about what other people think of you. You may think that people wonder whats up with you but it could just be that you're extremely aware of your surroundings.

Pilgrim
12-23-14, 06:47 AM
What Sarah says is super correct.

My job, dealing with a lot of people and sometimes you know people perceive something.
I find if I'm really speedy I had too much.

I generally feel pretty relaxed. Too the point I don't really care what people think.
If people ask, I work in Medicine, I tell them I take an SSRI.
There is also drops you can take for the eyes.
Your body will also adapt to the medication relatively soon.

Jbhawaii
01-09-15, 09:34 PM
It seems that perhaps you are being a little paranoid... A know side effect of stimulant meds. Did you titrate up on your dosages?