View Full Version : Adderall relieves my social anxiety??

BoyzX2
01-16-15, 06:59 PM
I am new to Adderall - this is day 7. Last year I tried Concerta (first time ever on meds) and 1 week in I had super anxiety and racing heart. It took me a whole year to come around to the idea of trying meds again.

Adderall has been wonderful - seems to be a really good fit. Can't believe how pervasive the ADHD has been in my daily activities...

Question 1: I am experiencing relief from some mild social anxiety and also from some little phobias I have. I had no idea that the meds would help in those areas and I am pleasantly surprised. But is this normal!?

Question 2: My IR tablets are not lasting as long as they were the first few days. Eventually does the tolerance top off? In other words, if I find the right dosage should I be able to stay on it with good effect for years on end or will I inevitably always need an increasingly larger dose to keep up with tolerance?

Thanks for sharing your experience!

Lee Anne

Pilgrim
01-16-15, 07:29 PM
I think you have the right drug. To feel more confident like this is quite normal.
In the future you will experience tolerance. A better way to put it is that your body is not as sensitive to it.
Upping the dosage is not the answer. Sometimes you need to just stay on a certain dose.
If you have any euphoric feelings these will subside.
You are looking for symptom relief.

Raye
01-18-15, 10:38 AM
Hi,

I agree with Pilgrim, it sounds
like the right med for you.

personally, before stimulant meds
I've been a real introvert my entire
life. but with adderall I find myself in
a better mood because I feel
a lot better. so its a lot easier for
me now to talk to people and
hold conversations.

I believe when you feel decent inside, it shows
on the outside.

If your dosage seems to be wearing off too
quickly,I would talk with your prescribing
physician. because IMO stimulant duration
is different for different people.