View Full Version : Magnesium

ahmeda
03-23-15, 07:36 AM
Hi. Perhaps there is somewhere a thread dedicated to this, but I couldnīt find it. If so, you can remove/transfer this posting start there.

Anyway. I was diagnosed as ADHD-I (ADD) two years ago. I have SAD for which I take 25 mg Sertraline in the mornings. I am 88 kg (200 lb), 178 cm (~6 foot), train on a regular basis 5-7 times / week.

Typical stimulant meds. did not work for me, cons were bigger than pros (tried Medikinet and Concerta). I am about to test Strattera on my summer vacation.

I feel normally exhausted every day, difficulties to start-up things, jittery etc. You know the drill...I talked this fatigue to my friend (did not mention ADHD). He suggested trying Magnesium.

By profession I am a chemical engineer with high skepticism towards supplements (well, I take whey protein and fish oil). But the price is cheap and you can have the stuff from shops and pharmacies, at least in my country. I bought chewable magnesium (in the form of Magnesium Oxide, they can be bought as magnesium chelates also, which are more soluble), and have chewed it now every morning after breakfast: one tablet, 350 mg.

After one week of usage, I am astounded. :eek: I feel 15-20% calmer, 15-20 % more focused. I notice this in my work ( I am better able to focus on for example creating demanding quotations without attention errors, typos etc. ) and at home ( I can actually watch TV-shows, which I donīt like that much, without moving or surfing in the internet etc. ) My stomach doesnīt work properly, but I donīt care since the benefits are that big.

I have difficulties of believing that this supplement could actually help.:rolleyes: Sun amount has also increased a lot here in Scandinavia and I have had positive things happening in my life. So this could be placebo or/and the other factors. But so has it been every year, but this feels different.