View Full Version : Being a "Recovering Hoarder/Clutterbug" with ADHD

OhLookABunny
04-12-15, 01:04 PM
This is one of the few places I feel safe saying I have been a clutterbug and a hoarder without encountering the "hoarder shaming" so prevalent in our society. It's also a place where I can say I have been working for several years to overcome my hoarding and hopefully people will believe me and not judge by what's still messy.

Incidentally, I'm motivated by an upcoming move that was anticipated but the timeline got bumped up. I'm on disability and my finances have taken a severe hit because of some long-overdue automotive repairs in the last month or so. The timing of this has been more than a little stressful.

The positive thing is that I do feel this motivation. I'm at an age where I'm beginning to feel a genuine desire to "downsize" and more than that, even an emotional desire to purge more of the past and free up space and energy to pursue "bucket list" goals. :) So instead of the anxiety that was behind a lot of the hoarding, that fear that "if I get rid of it I'll regret it later," I substitute the question "Is keeping this stuff going to advance or impede me in my new goals?"

I think I have a good set of insights now into what caused me to hoard, and it's complex, as most hoarder motivations tend to be. Abuse and bullying and periods of family discord (though thankfully counterbalanced by love and forgiveness) in childhood are the most emotional set of factors. The bad times caused me to trust people less and things more. And I was an only child, so material possessions were generally readily available and I spent more time alone than the average kid. In short, I had a lot of good times with my stuff, and I attached a lot of sentimental value to it in the process.

OCD was a factor, it runs in the family and along with it comes hoarding. One relative's hoarding was severe enough that the authorities became involved. :(