View Full Version : Can we have cognition without emotion?

mildadhd
04-16-15, 12:33 AM
Can we have cognition without emotion?

P

Fortune
04-16-15, 01:40 AM
We can have cognition. However, lacking emotion creates a severe impairment in decision-making. Imagine trying to decide what you want to eat for dinner when you can't feel any kind of "want" at all.

There's been a lot of research on this, and not having emotions is a huge impairment.

Abi
04-16-15, 06:01 AM
As an AI researcher I vote Yes.

stef
04-16-15, 06:08 AM
Yes , from AI point of view i think so too
lots of excelllent Sci-fi based on this issue!

mildadhd
04-16-15, 08:52 AM
We can have cognition. However, lacking emotion creates a severe impairment in decision-making. Imagine trying to decide what you want to eat for dinner when you can't feel any kind of "want" at all.

There's been a lot of research on this, and not having emotions is a huge impairment.

My understanding is it would be impossible to have cognition without emotion.

Cognition is "built" upon emotion.

No emotional consciousness, no cognitive consciousness.

P

Tmoney
04-16-15, 09:26 AM
I voted no based on me. Not only do I have emotion, but I have too much emotion and that has a tendency to cause issues for me.

I have learned to control it to a point, but I have yet to ponder without lots of emotion being involved!

TheChemicals
04-16-15, 09:55 AM
If u mean we as in ourselves then no. Everything is based on emotion and we try oh so hard to not be that way....be ourselves....

Fortune
04-16-15, 07:40 PM
My understanding is it would be impossible to have cognition without emotion.

Cognition is "built" upon emotion.

No emotional consciousness, no cognitive consciousness.

P

There are real people alive today who do not experience emotion but still experience cognition - they just have an extremely difficult time making decisions and getting things done.

mildadhd
04-16-15, 09:05 PM