View Full Version : Does "brand" really make a difference?

mommajen08
04-30-15, 02:15 PM
Hello! I'm new to Ritalin and am feeling a little frustrated.

Late March I was prescribed 10mg IR twice a day. I went to my local CVS and received the Sandoz brand. It made a huge difference in my day to day functioning although two a day wasn't enough. Some days I'd take three and would just take the weekend "off" but the variation in how I'd feel from day to day wasn't ideal.

On Monday, my doc upped me to 10mg IR three times a day. I was so relieved as I knew this would really help me manage my ADHD consistently. Well....I went to the same CVS and received the Mallinkrodt brand.

This "new" prescription feels so watered down. It helps a tiny bit, not much. I can focus a little more than normal, but not like I did with the Sandoz. I also feel very mellow with the Mallinkrodt. The Sandoz calmed me down, but left me happy and energetic. The Mallinkrodt calms me down a little (not as much as the Sandoz) but leaves me feeling a little lethargic.

Am I crazy? Could their be any other reason why my prescription isn't working like it did the first month? Do pharmacies carry more than one generic "brand" of a drug or is it normal for them to switch which "brand" they are dispensing? Should I (can I) request Sandoz next time I get my Rx?

This really sucks now that I cannot fill my Rx until May 27th :(

Jenn1202
05-03-15, 01:55 AM
Yes. Some generics work better than others. Also, the side effects often vary, depending on the brand.

Maurice
05-03-15, 10:47 PM