View Full Version : The Concerta Poster Girl

Powderbucket
06-29-15, 03:30 AM
Background

About two years ago, I started a desk job. Before that, I was a teacher and a student Ė so lots of movement, freedom and activity. After becoming despondent in that job, I came across these diet pills that contained a chemical called Phentermine. Itís a power chemical, similar to amphetamine, with some strong effects. Needless to say, I was quite hooked after the first pill. You need a prescription for them, so I illegally got them through a sports website (at such a damn cost too). My aggravation, boredom and restlessness were fixed, and I generally felt great throughout the day. However, the side effects were AWFUL, and I started to think that I was becoming a junkie. I canít actually explain the come-downs Ė they were just nasty. So I stopped them after some months, but then went on a whole range of supplements in an attempt to ďhelpĒ myself. Long story short, these also messed me up a bit and made me slump into a total depression. I then decided to see a psychiatrist who would help me understand why I felt I needed medication to help me move through life. I was diagnosed ADHD ďthrough the roof!Ē The best from my psychiatrist: ďYou are the definition of ADHD, not of addictionĒ. My ADHD was picked up very late because I was a smart kid and achieved quite a bit in life (painfully though).

On 5 May 2015, I started medication Ė Ritalin 10mg IR and Concerta XR 36mg.

UPDATE: Having just seen my pdoc for our last session for the next six months, I was called "the poster girl for response to ADHD medication".

Work Life