View Full Version : High Achieving Students With ADHD

bzybee14
07-26-15, 10:37 PM
Hello! I was wondering if anyone here did well in school, but also had ADHD (whether diagnosed during school or after high school graduation.)
I myself haven't been diagnosed with ADHD, but I'm wondering if I might (my mom and sister also show symptoms of ADHD.)
I am 18, almost 19, and I graduated as valedictorian of my high school graduating class (2014,) but I was an A-B and sometimes C student in middle school (at the beginning of my freshman year I viewed to be the top of my class.)
Anyways, I'm not looking for any informal diagnoses, but I am interested in hearing stories about high achievers with ADHD.
:thankyou:

BellaVita
07-26-15, 10:47 PM
I was a high-achiever with ADHD, I was diagnosed in summer of 2011.

I did well in school, only made a B twice in my life. (Only once did it land on my report card)

I also took all advanced classes, skipped grades in certain subjects, had a position in the NHS, teachers urged me to skip a couple grades but I didn't because I wanted to graduate with the friends I grew up with since kindergarten.

I also took a college course in high school.

BUT even though I did very well, I had zero social life and worked on homework 6hours + a day.

I struggled with focus and attention, yes I was a high-achiever, but it came with a cost. I hardly slept, and would work 10 x harder than everyone else.

Was always exhausted.

But had to get those good grades.

sarahsweets
07-27-15, 04:14 AM
What were your symptoms in childhood? Beyond and before middle school I mean.

dvdnvwls
07-27-15, 12:56 PM
I have very obvious ADHD and was the top student in my high school. I started to "crash and burn" in university but I made it through.

(My ADHD diagnosis wasn't made until my 40s. For a while, when I was small, I was in advanced classes and remedial classes at the same time. :) )

TygerSan
07-27-15, 01:28 PM