View Full Version : Dexamphetamine and Blood Pressure

ryanaus89
09-20-15, 07:42 AM
Hi everyone :-)

I'm new to this. I got my diagnosis a week ago...I was relieved to have a psychiatrist explain it to me and it made everything make sense. That's probably a common feeling.

I've been prescribed Dex 10mg at 8:00am and 10mg at 2:00pm. The effect was pretty impressive; I went into a three hour meeting and I was able to stay on task and follow the conversation :-D

The one thing I've noticed is an increase in my blood pressure. I'm a relatively healthy non smoking 25 year old in a healthy weight range. My BP was always a tiny bit on the up side about 130/90. I've been keeping an eye on it over the last couple of days and it's around 140/90. It's high after exercise (of course). Is this something that becomes more stable once the body becomes more familiar with dex? Has anyone else had this experience?

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated :-).

athala
09-22-15, 10:34 PM
Do you exercise while on dex? A person's BP and HR can become more sensitive to physical exertion when on amphetamines.

sarahsweets
09-23-15, 04:44 AM
Its worth seeing a cardiologist or at least your primary. I am not sure if dex can definitely cause high bp but it can certainly make someone with borderline issues worse.

timotheose
10-17-15, 05:04 PM
I am 45, male and in fairly poor shape. I have been getting back into shape over the last 2 months or so and my Dr had me on Biphentin (Ritalin XR) and has recently asked me to check out Dexadrine.

I would love to hear other peoples experiences here as well as I am experiencing similar responses to the medication. I regularly wear a HRM and take my BP often as I am concerned about the effect that Dex has on my heart. I am also interested in continuing my exercise regime as I am getting some good results (lost 10 pounds over 2 months).

Peace

TangledWebs
10-17-15, 09:16 PM