View Full Version : Do I have it figured all out?

Scaffoldtack
10-18-15, 06:50 PM
Ok so I have been diagnosed adhd for two years. As soon as I started taking medication ( vyvanse and later Ritalin)my whole personality changed. I have a college degree and know that the medications I took for two years( I am no longer on medication) release dopamine( vyvanse ) and inhibit its re uptake (Ritalin). My whole life I realized I was different from everyone. I couldn't sit still or hold a normal conversation... I interrupted people and was extremely restless. These meds inhibited my movement and made everything interesting! And increased my patience dramatically. I also became very social, but I didn't care about anything bad in the world and I made connections in my mind that I have never made before. I seen the world as a whole picture. They also made me extremely hyper sexual ( I'm a male ) even at the lowest dosages. This side effect is what led me to stop the meds.
So my question is if dopamine and or norepinephrine to a lesser extent makes you social. And anti social people are quiet and not social( low dopamine). Then is dopamine what makes you good and bad? With low I'm moody and passive aggressive. With any dopamine releaser I'm hyper social, sexual, and I become a snake in the grass! Is everyone like this?

BellaVita
10-18-15, 07:13 PM
I don't think I'm understanding your question - "Then is dopamine what makes you good and bad?" What do you mean?

I don't think it is about low dopamine, I think it's about dopamine regulation(trying to think of the right word), or something like that.

I don't think scientists know enough about it yet.

Scaffoldtack
10-18-15, 07:30 PM