View Full Version : How can I increase my ADD guy's interest in me?

Be-loved683
10-25-15, 08:53 PM
I have known this great guy who has ADD/ADHD for a few months now. I am just beginning to learn more about ADD/ADHD from a friend who has it. This guy has told me that I am beautiful, that he cares about me, and when we are together (especially alone) we have good conversation and connect on many levels. I really want to believe that he cares for me as he says. I really think that he genuinely means all of those things. But I get this sense that if I am not persistent with him that I would be "out of sight/out of mind." He likes to keep busy with many activities along with work, so I am wondering if there is any advice for how I can climb his priority list? I don't want to lose hope, I'd like to give something a try if it would work to increase his interest in me above these other things that he likes to do. Thank you in advance for you help.

dvdnvwls
10-25-15, 09:06 PM
I think this question may be coming from a misunderstanding.

People with ADHD, in general, are not able to have priorities. Not in the way regular people think of priorities, anyway.

What happens when you stop trying to be a priority, stop being persistent, stop trying to increase his interest in you, for a whole week? Go and try it. :)

aeon
10-25-15, 11:19 PM
I get this sense that if I am not persistent with him that I would be "out of sight/out of mind."

My sense is that your spidey-sense is right on target.

Given this, choose to be persistent with him.

I know this may not be your preference, and it may not be easy. To some degree it is in contradiction with the biological and cultural ideal that a man pursues a woman, and a woman accepts or rejects that pursuit.

Well, the fact of the matter is that any relationship, ADHD or otherwise, has to be navigated and negotiated as it develops. Choose what works, and discard what doesn’t.

His reality may indeed be his present moment.