View Full Version : Depression with no sadness ... situational? Hormones? Help!

demfabbones
10-26-15, 03:40 PM
Background: I take 100 mg setraline (zoloft) daily and .5 mg Atavan as needed (which is rarely.)

Although anxiety is my major issue, I've had depression before. It was always related to a feeling of being stuck - desperately unhappy with my circumstances, but having no means by which to change them.

I feel very stuck and depressed now, but the major difference is, I don't feel sad, and there is a definite end in sight. In two months I'm moving to a new city to be with my boyfriend. I'm super excited about this, but in the meantime, I am so tired. I feel ridiculous for being this way - I only have to make it two months. But in the meantime I'm miserable at my job and it is a huge struggle to drag myself out of bed in the morning. When I'm at work, it's hard to get anything done and the tasks are piling up. When I get home, I feel exhausted from doing nothing, and I want nothing more than to just lie in bed and eat or watch Netflix (or both.)

I have plenty of friends here, but it seems like a waste of time to continue to invest in friendships when I'm leaving. I realize that this is the worst possible attitude to take towards friends and that I can stay in touch with these people after I move. (I'm only going 3 hours away so I'll be back for frequent visits.)

Before now, I was a little mystified at how blank and empty I feel, but I knew I could survive it. But this past weekend, I experienced unaccountable RAGE at how powerless I feel. Like, wanted to scream and cry and hit things rage. And did some of that. And felt no better. My mood feels completely out of control. I also started taking birth control two months ago and wonder if the hormones are having a detrimental affect on my mood? I have never had PMS like what I'm having now ... in fact, it rarely affected me. But I thought BC was supposed to regulate hormones and make PMS better...?