View Full Version : I am struggling ADHD boss

ITguy
11-17-15, 02:59 PM
I've started this post about 20 times over the last month or so, but could never get it right..so I'm going more basic with it.

I am a small business owner and have 2 non-ADHD employees to manage. My non-ADHD wife helps quite a bit, but she's not in the office very much so it's really up to me to handle things.

Some of my bigger issues include, not being able to correct employees when they do something wrong, always expecting 100% from them when I should be ok with somewhat less, time passage and planning is very difficult, being in hyperfocus makes me "unapproachable" as they don't want to "bother me" if they have question.

I've always been quiet and not very social. I describe myself as "not quite able to be a leader, but not happy with being a follower." I've never had to "encourage people" or "give praise". I'm frequently reminded that employees are not robots, but that's the only way I can evaluate them is on their work. I have trouble accepting less then 100% from them (And myself) as it seems either you are doing the work well (100%) or you're not (0%)--I have no middle ground. I would rather work with things then with people (fairly typical IT person I suppose).

My wife has made us have a all-employee weekly meeting over lunch. The point of the meeting is for "team building" and "getting to know each other better" rather then work planning. I have major anxiety before and during these meetings and often cannot finish a sandwich because I feel like I'm going to throw up. I end up (and usually try) to not say much, just disappear into the corner while they are all talking. I can sometimes add a joke or something to the conversation but never anything more then that.