View Full Version : Got a promotion, overwhelmed

ferez21
11-28-15, 02:18 PM
After two years working for this company, i got promoted and i am now a team leader of a team of 8 people.
I find it to be more overwhelming then rewarding since:

1) I now have to manage 8 people who were my colleagues for the last 2 years. Some of them hate me for the promotion, some of them think i can change things that are not up to me, some of them take advantage of the fact we were colleagues.

2) This is an outsourcing company, which means we are giving services for a client and its customers - both the client, and my company have several goals that can contradict in many cases. From my experience for working 2 years in this company for another client, i know some "goals" that my current manager set are simply unobtainable, but of course i can't say anything like that to him.

3) I am new to this role, the department i run is new and started operating 2 weeks ago, and i feel everybody is expecting me for too much.

4) This is a kind of a company that will not hurry to fire an employee, even if he is very unproductive and even if they know he is problematic, which makes many employees lazy and uncaring about anything, and there is nothing i can do about it (for example, one of the employees was fired from 2 different departments in this company, but they hired him back).

5) Since this is a new department in the company, i have no one to mentor me, and my manager is not very experienced in the actual job.

Take all these things and mix it with my ADHD, and you have a hopeless situation.
I sometimes not sure if i can do it, every word i say to a team member he\she takes it personally, and generally speaking the majority of the team is very embittered about the job and don't really care about any of the statistics i have t o keep.

I feel overwhelmed and don't know how to handle a situation with so many harsh parameters involved.