View Full Version : Is Ritalin right for me?

BlackKeys96
12-11-15, 01:44 PM
Hi all,

I'm a college sophomore who was prescribed methylphenidate by my neurologist a little under 10 months ago. Most college kids will ******** and say they have A.D.D. to get stims, but I really felt that I had it, and my neurologist agreed (after grilling me and my dad for almost an hour in his office to ensure I wasn't a drug-seeker). He gave me Ritalin (regular stuff, so I assume instant release?) in 5 mg pills. I slowly increased my dose until I felt an effect (wound up being 20 mg). So I began taking it in 20 mg doses, ranging from once or twice a week to every day depending on how much work I had to do or if I really needed to focus in class or on an exam. It helped so much. I could write a 5-page paper in 3 or 4 hours. It used to take me, maybe, 20 hours total over the span of days to get anything on paper. I didn't realize this wasn't normal until college, My GPA first semester freshman year was only a 2.75. The next semester it was a 3.60. So I was definitely happy with the results of my meds.