View Full Version : Can't seem to keep a job

Melody88
12-16-15, 03:58 AM
I'm new to this forum but I have been reading some threads for awhile now.I'm so desperate for advice and people who understand me that I decided to start my own thread.

I have always known I had ADD, but I did't want to think too much about it. But since I graduated I haven't been able to keep a job. I could only get temp jobs and it's the same story every time. For eighthours a day I have to do simple, administrative tasks. Obviously, I get bored, but it's much more than that. I can't concentrate ( I was familiar with this because it was always a problem in school), I start to feel exhausted and anxious at the same time. By the end of the day it's like my body and brain can't take it anymore and it's practically impossible to concentrate, my heart starts beating faster and I just wanna run. This has gotten worse over the year, with every new temp job. By now I literally feel sick at the end of a workday. I'm exhausted all the time. I don't have it as much when I can work parttime and arrange it so I can work a couple of hours a day instead of eight, but as a temp, I really don't get a choice in my hours.
So I lose all my temp jobs because I call in sick too many times, or I'm not focused enough, or I ask for too much ( like more challenging tasks or different workhours).

Do any of you recognize this? I really feel this is the ADD coming out full force. Not being able to concentrate, getting restless and anxious, needing to be stimulated mentally, having a hard time dealing with the constant change of environment.
But most people around me don't get it. I feel misunderstood and kind of lonely in this. Only my mom gets it, because she's seen me struggle with this since i was a kid. But I really need to hear from people who get it, who have the same thing, that I'm not crazy, or just a lazy quitter.

sarahsweets
12-16-15, 04:57 AM
What have you done in the past to treat your adhd?

Pilgrim