View Full Version : Musician with ADD, need help/suggestions

hyperpotato
12-28-15, 03:12 PM
I am a 23 year old musician. I've gotten a few things published, and have been working on a project (my first album) for about 2 years now. My goal is to get my album finished and published by the end of next year, but I keep hitting a major road block with my ADD. It's not so much that I keep getting distracted by stuff, or that I can't focus on it when i do work on it; in fact, when I can get myself to sit down and work I can do the ADD hyper focus thing. The problem is that I just can't seem to... well... "get around" to it. It's a lot like going outside to feed the dog, and then coming in an hour later without having fed it, but not because I forgot, just didn't seem to do it, if that makes sense.

This is pretty much my future job. I'm a music major in college, play a lot of instruments, and have put so much blood, sweat, and tears into my music. I would hate to be stopped by one of the things that made it possible. Does anyone have suggestions, or are in the same boat?

Thank you!!!

Roundmouth
12-29-15, 05:17 PM
Two years for one album - I'm impressed! My ambition is to record seven albums in one year, and I don't even play any instruments properly. Drums I can't play at all but they will be included on all tracks and I have no one else but myself to play them. Well, the big difference may be that my records won't exactly be played on the radio.

Lloyd_
01-07-16, 11:20 PM