View Full Version : Dealing with competative "alpha" co workers?

Lloyd_
01-09-16, 02:24 AM
One thing I'm not good at and that's going through the whole ritual of sucking up to my superiors and trying to compete with coworkers for that "promotion". Just give me my assignments and be done with it! Don't really do well in that "prison mentality" type environment so of course people always get promoted past me regardless of my seniority wherever I've worked in the past and currently at the present.

I'm really stressing out about this right now because it's the same cycle that always occurs wherever I've worked, being the new guy and paying my dues then comes along somebody who's more competitive and whom sucks up more then of course I'll have one off week and all those good deeds are erased and totally forgotten about.

I'm stressed out over this, please lie to me and say everything is going to be ok? :rolleyes:

Hate people I swear. :mad:

InvitroCanibal
01-09-16, 05:17 AM
You need to build credability within your team. Your boss wont ever give you credit and sucking up to your boss won't help.

Look after your coworkers and then your boss will look after you.

It isn't really sucking up, it is building credability that matters. You may work hard but if your coworkers never see it then no one cares.

Being social isn't necessary. To build credability with your coworkers, you will just need to look after their needs. Care about what they care about. Just listen and ask "How can I help?"

Do this, and your boss will promote you. I gurantee it.

The reason is because anyone in a position of power has to look after the needs,of others. If you don't then you will be a bad boss and it would look badly on anyone that promoted you. Most of the suck ups,that get promoted display the ability to look after others needs. It isnt competitiveness unless they are insecure about your strengths. In which case you don't need to worry about them.