View Full Version : concerta is killing me

sabrisuper
01-30-16, 12:30 PM
-attention:this topic includes bad english -
hi everyone, I've been using for 6 months . 52 mg but this made me sick , i fell too strange and my heart so anxious :( i use propranolol with concerta but this is not enough. my blood pleasure is normal but i can feel my heart.
I'm scared to death but my college exam in march :( what can i do ? i used starattera but its made high pulse .i tried with ssri but thats make hives .
im so sad and i havent enough time for study :(

Corina86
01-30-16, 12:38 PM
Maybe you dosage is too high.

sabrisuper
01-30-16, 12:45 PM
Maybe you dosage is too high.
could be, i used 5 box 52mg . if i will take lower concerta , will there a problem ? maybe low attention or like something:(

Lunacie
01-30-16, 01:22 PM
The starting dose for Concerta is much lower, only 18 mg, raised slowly maybe every couple of weeks.

Some people find it takes even longer to adjust to each dose increase.

It should have taken 2 to 4 months to reach a dose of 54 mg, starting at 18 mg, 27 mg, 36 mg, then 54 mg.

The highest dose is 72 mg so you can see you were probably started on much too high a dose.

Sorry your doctor doesn't understand about titrating stimulant meds.

aeon
01-30-16, 02:19 PM
The highest dose is 72 mg so you can see you were probably started on much too high a dose.

Is that a guideline from the manufacturer or the FDA? If so, I was not aware of that. I was prescribed 108mg by my doctor.

Cheers,
Ian

Lunacie
01-30-16, 02:27 PM
That's what it says at drugs.com > concerta dosage

Doses may be increased in 18 mg increments at weekly intervals for patients who have not achieved an optimal response at a lower dose. Daily dosages above 54 mg in children and 72 mg in adolescents have not been studied and are not recommended. Daily dosages above 72 mg in adults are not recommended.

namazu
01-30-16, 02:42 PM