View Full Version : Any IT Techies in the house?

CasioCurious
02-10-16, 06:58 PM
Hello,

Are you guys passionate about your jobs? I ask because I'm in school for IT degree and I don't have experience in this field. What I'm afraid of is finding later on that I am not "passionate" about the field. Obviously everyone is different, but I wanted to see your thoughts since our brains are kind of wired the same way; or not.

Sorry, I'm just babbling. I don't know, I just have to be passionate about everything I do. What do you guys like about IT or dislike?

Thanks in Advance!

dvdnvwls
02-10-16, 10:48 PM
You don't have to be passionate about everything. In fact, you can't. There are simply too many things in life, to be passionate about every one of them.

If you like it and you are good at it and they will pay you, that sounds like a good deal to me. :)

Now, if you are finding that you really dislike the whole thing, that's different.

KarmanMonkey
02-11-16, 09:31 AM
I worked in IT for a few years, and for me it was soul sucking. Reflecting back, it wasn't because of the job per se, but the fact that I didn't see value in the work I was doing. IT is a broad spectrum of work, so specialize in something that interests/excites you.

If you're an environmentalist, maybe look into geoanylitics and develop software that tracks polution.

If you have an interest in health care, I'd love to see someone actually develop an information system for hospitals that isn't a piece of crap :)

If you're interested in design and form, look into becoming a web developer.

If you're fascinated by the abstract and complex, then perhaps pursuing a PhD is something that would suit.

Basically it's not the work that's the issue, but the purpose of the work, in my humble opinion.

CasioCurious
02-11-16, 10:27 AM
Basically it's not the work that's the issue, but the purpose of the work, in my humble opinion.