View Full Version : I had a good day, I told my manager and a colleague about my ADD and have no regrets

Jacksper
02-29-16, 03:03 PM
Last week I told my manager that I had ADD. I work here for 2 months now and I feel that it's a very friendly environment, so I thought I could. I also had to, because I have not been doing that great. This is not a huge problem for them; I am an unpaid trainee at the moment, with the agreement that I will get paid as soon as I get a project, but still it would be nice for us both if I could actually get a project. The thing is: it's (mostly) not their fault that I don't have one yet. They have given me plenty of opportunities, and I have worked on nearly all of them, but I just struggle with staying organized and productive. This was quite frustrating, and because I kept this all to myself I became quite ashamed and depressed from this, which, you know, doesn't help as well. Because of past (mixed) experiences with telling about my ADD to employers and due to the bad experiences you folks had that we discussed here I thought it was a good idea to keep my mouth shut and I think that was a good idea for then. But I trusted my manager and I had not much to lose, so I told him. I said that I didn't want to whine about it, and that it's my responsibility to deal with it, but just that I thought it was important for them to know so we can discuss solutions. He told me that a collegue of me also has ADD (and is quite open about it so he could tell) and that it may be interesting to talk with him.

Well I did that and it was really good. He was really open and from what he told I recognized that he had a lot of the same struggles (I recognized some of that in his behavior earlier, although I have respect for how he copes with it). I said that I liked talking about it with him and if he wanted to discuss this more often. He said that he would really like that.