View Full Version : Teacher with ADHD -- What Can I Do?

jnorman
03-19-16, 06:35 PM
Im dealing with job related issues. As a teacher my supervior/principal is a bully
Despite 90 % above grade student scores and 8 years of parent satifaction, my evaluations are negative and reflect ADHD related symptoms and distortions of my creative innovative teaching style. Ongoing relentless formal and informal observations are distorted and ambigyous. I accept responsibty for my challenges. However Issues such as late arrival to meetings, paperwork, and disorganization are evident and mentioned in public, private settings and numerous email 2 to 3 times per day. Comparisons to Type A structured teachers is constant. Rumers or comments from other teachers are listed as factual accounts, cultural issues discounted? This harrasment has seriously affected my health, and exaserabated a difficult working relationship. Despite years of medical tx and counseling, my job is in jeopardy. ADHD is ruining my life are their ADA
protections for teachers with ADHD? What about accomdations?

ginniebean
03-19-16, 07:14 PM
Yes there are, consult a lawyer. Problem is, it's tough to fight, and this individual appears determined to get rid of you. Start looking for a new job!

jnorman
03-19-16, 07:43 PM
Thank you!
Leaving is best under the circumstances however i still interested in appropiate accomodations for teachers or other workplace protections for peope with adhd.

Pilgrim
03-19-16, 07:58 PM
I agree with ginni, if this guy has your number I would go straight to him and ask him what his problem is.

If these issues aren't affecting your results then **** him.

That's what I would say.

jnorman
03-19-16, 08:14 PM
Thank for your encouragement.

acdc01
03-20-16, 11:08 AM
Like Ginnybean said, get a disability lawyer (one with good creds) ASAP.