View Full Version : I cannot get anything done, especially schoolwork. Help???

astronomalous
03-29-16, 02:02 AM
Hi all I'm new here, and after thinking I have ADD from time to time over the past few years, I've got confirmation from my therapist that I do indeed have it. I talked to her about it after my lifelong struggle with managing work, tasks, organization, and school anxiety has just drastically increased over the last six months.

I'm in my last semester of a science Bachelor's, and I've managed to keep a B+/A- average, but only after 5 years, several incompletes and retakes and lots of help and physical health issues.

But I just absolutely CANNOT get anything done! Whether I like the subject or not, I get roughly 30-60 minutes of outside-class schoolwork done a day. Maybe on a really, really good day, 2 hours or 3. Reading and studying are hard, writing is nigh on impossible. I'm failing classes because I've been unable to do any of multiple short essays. It extends to housework and errands too, but less so because those tasks don't mount up to my entire future.

I thought it was because I was getting extremely burnt out on my major topic, but I'm taking a class for my minor I absolutely ADORE, enough that's it may've changed what I want to do with my life, but it too is extremely hard (though easier than other topics) for me to do work for.

I don't even really know why I can't get anything done. I make little plans probably several days a week, "I'm going to go home and work on this for an hour, take a break, eat, then call this person, then read this chapter" etc. And I get all pumped about getting things done, but then I get home and...nothing. Or I sit at my desk at my cubicle or at a coffee shop and basically nothing (I can, say, maybe check emails and respond). I get home and tell myself to do these things, and it's just like there's a disconnect between my brain and my body.