View Full Version : Urge to always take more than prescribed

pimdijkstraa
03-31-16, 01:47 PM
Hello,

I'd like to share some things that are currently playing in my life.
I'm a 20 year old student living in the Netherlands and I was diagnosed with AD(H)D when I just turned 18. My psychiatrist thought it was a good idea to prescribe me ritalin. I don't know why, but I immediately abused it in the first day. I really liked the effect, but I hated the rebound, and because I wanted to prevent the rebound, I took more ritalin.
When my dosage was 80mgs of ritalin a day, my urge went sky rocketing.
That was the reason why my 1 month supply would be taken in just a week.
I was ashamed of myself, but I told my psychiatrist and he got me off these meds. He said that concerta could be something for me.

Now, while my dose is 90mg a day (54mg Concerta in the morning and 36mg in the afternoon), I still have the urge to take more. I don't know why, because I don't really have a rebound while using Concerta. It just seems like I have no self-discipline because I will take more than prescribed. Sometimes I like it, sometimes I feel very bad, but it just keeps happening.

That's the reason why I think I'm addicted. And by saying that I don't mean physical addicted. When I'm out of meds, everything is fine, except that I can't really concentrate because I'm either running through the house like a maniac or brainstorming the hell out of 15 things at once. But when it's available, I can't control myself.

Does anyone recognise this and could provide me some advise? I'm kinda desperate to be honest. Thanks in advance!

P.s. excuse me for my English. I tried my best to make the problem as clear as possible.

Regards

Daydreamin22
03-31-16, 10:29 PM
This is a chemical dependency/addiction issue and its great that you caught it. Iwould definitely get professional help.

i41agree
04-06-16, 01:12 PM