View Full Version : Dexedrine strength

houseofadhd
04-06-16, 08:15 PM
I'm still pretty new to meds and tend to have strong reactions to things, so am trying to figure out what to expect when I start dex. (Yes, I know it's totally individual.) I had decent luck with adderall, but it made my heart race so I'm trying dex to see if I can get more effect with less side effect. However, I've read some posts where people mention dex being stronger, so I'm wondering if switching from 5 mg of one to 5 mg of the other is OK or if that has the potential to be too much. Anything else I should know?

Greyhound1
04-06-16, 09:41 PM
Welcome to the forum!

I wouldn't worry about Dex. feeling stronger than Adderall. Most find it to be similar with smoother and less side effects. Dex. doesn't have levoamp. which stimulates the nervous system like Adderall.

Basically. Adderall is 3 parts dextroamphetamine to 1 part levoamphetamine.
They are similar but most find Adderall to have more of a physical kick.

I also switched from Adderall to Dex and was prescribed the same dosage. The levoamp. in Adderall caused me anxiety when wearing off and some heart palpitations. I have had no problem with any side effects on Dex.

houseofadhd
04-06-16, 09:52 PM
Great. I have a 4 hour neuroanatomy class tomorrow, which is much more tolerable on meds than off, but I didn't want to throw in something that could possibly make it worse.

Little Nut
04-06-16, 10:00 PM
If you're switching from 5 mg/day Adderall to 5 mg/day dexedrine you won't (shouldn't) notice much of a difference. Adderall is ~3/4 dexedrine. For higher doses you would expect the Adderall to show more peripheral nervous system stimulation than the dexedrine.

Based on all the articles and forum posts on the net, it seems that You, the individual, has the most to do with the effects of these 2 drugs in treating your condition.

So IOW the bottom line is YMMV.

LN

Greyhound1
04-06-16, 10:02 PM