View Full Version : ADD & working as a software developer

Jacksper
04-11-16, 11:32 PM
I studied environmental science and now I suddenly get offered a lot of jobs as a software engineer. The applications of the software from these companies is relevant to my study background, but I have no experience as a software developer. This should be clear from my linkedin profile. However, I have had some relevant jobs, one as a helpdesk guy & one as a consultant, serving as a bridge between a developer and a client. And I have developed some software ideas of my own, and I have even considered to develop one of these as a startup. Also, in the last month I have started to fall in love with programming and I am putting more and more time into learning programming languages that seem to be useful for my career. So, I think this path connects to my interests.

Now, the question is: how can I thrive in this environment, despite my ADD (or perhaps it can be a net positive? one can dream, right?).

The first question the company that sounded most interesting asked (in their email) was how good my skills were in a particular programming language. Fortunately, this particular programming language is my best language. Unfortunately, I have only about 40-60 hours of experience with it (spread over a year) - I did a few courses and workshops and I used it a bit in my work & life. I will make improving my knowledge of this language my #1 learning goal - even if I don't get this position, I am sure that this knowledge will come in handy later.