View Full Version : ADD and PhD Applications/Study

Madame Bovary
04-19-16, 04:37 AM
Hello all,

I was just wondering if anyone here is doing, or in the process of applying for, a PhD? I finished my Masters in October and am hoping to start the application process around July/August, but I am seriously procrastinating on working on my PhD proposal (probably more to do with anxiety than ADD). I think the self-doubt is to do with me wanting to have some idea of a loose time-management schedule/structure for the PhD... If anyone has any advice, in any way, it would be much appreciated! (I study literature, but any non-humanities experience would be useful too!).

Thank you :)

Fuzzy12
04-19-16, 07:04 AM
I did a PhD in Computer Science. Your idea of wanting to have a loose structure or schedule in place before you start is a good one. The biggest difficulty I encountered was the lack of externally imposed structure. A PhD isn't hard but you need to be extremely self motivated, organised and methodical. Thankfully, I didn't have to write a research proposal. I doubt I'd ever have made it beyond that. I guess, everyone is different but here are a few thoughts:

1. The most important is that you really, really, really love your topic. That can go a long way in making up for our deficits and unless you are really interested and really want to know the answers to your research questions it will be very hard to motivate yourself.

2. Make a plan, fairly early in your PhD (or before you start). Make it fairly detailed with concrete dates. It will keep changing throughout the course of your PhD and that's perfectly fine and normal but having some sort of plan you can refer to will help a bit in making you feel accountable and knowing here you stand or how far off track you are.