View Full Version : Professors Struggles

Professor65
04-25-16, 12:10 PM
I am a full professor, and this is the end of my 14th year in academica. I was finally diagnosed with ADD at the end of my doctoral program, when I recognized myself when pursuing a specialty in Gifted Children. I have always struggled with organization and focus, but somehow learned to overcompensate for my deficits by working slowly but slavishly, when I returned to college as an adult--determined not to fail this time, as I had in the past. I graduated summa cum laude in my phd program, from a top-tier university. I have a huge record of publications, but the efforts to organize teaching materials has become increasingly difficult, despite medication, and due to the comorbid diagnosis of severe, frequent migraines (and vestibular migraines), are almost too much. The last couple of years I have received comments from students about problems with disorganization and confusion--but this is in addition to positive comments (e.g., my passion for the subject, creativity, etc.), as well (but that are not as frequent as in prior years). My department head emphasized these problems in my last review--with only one sentence on my outstanding and prolific list of publications this past year. I have not told him or any of my colleagues about the ADD diagnosis, although they do know of the migraine struggles. I fear this review may be a documented effort to begin to the termination process.

I am struggling with the decision now if I should disclose this, and what the possible negative repercussions might be. To have both ADD and severe, frequent migraines (despite treatments), is a double-whammy to the ability to concentrate, focus, be productive, and be organized, as well as memory issues (which are becoming more of a concern as the migraines are increasing in frequency and severity again--possible linked to all this stress).