View Full Version : Learning disability?

guffman44
05-01-16, 02:59 PM
So I know A.D.D. is kind of disability. But I think I have a learning disability on top of it, or because of it. I cannot learn in classrooms. Period. I also have trouble with auditory instructions or conversations. I took this job in I.T. because I was desperate for a job. It is in technical support over the phone. Absolutely one of the worst jobs imaginable for a person with my type of A.D.D. You have to pay close attention to someone's issue on the phone, then try to come up with a solution. I try to pay attention, but I lose focus halfway through the conversation or the words get jumbled up. I have to have the customer repeat what they said a lot of the time. It's especially tough if they are from another country and have an accent.

But the trouble really starts with my knowledge of the software I support. I studied on my own for a week with kind of bad study materials. Then they put me in class for a week. I swear I walked out of there not much more knowledgeable than when I started. It was almost impossible for me to not only pay attention, but decipher what the instructor was saying. It's like the words get all mixed up, just like when I am on the phone. Almost like an audio dyslexia. I've went through this time and time again. I don't know what to do. My insurance has a high deductible, so I can't afford to get treatment for A.D.D. right now. Anyone have a method they use that helps them learn, if indeed you have the same symptoms I do? I have to go solo on the phone this week, and I'm concerned, to say the least.

Roundmouth
05-01-16, 05:09 PM
I highly recognize this and it gets me into serious trouble all the time. Done so all my life. And I really have no idea what to do about it... I only have some very vague clues.