View Full Version : Social Wreck

JayOrmaru
05-07-16, 11:08 AM
This is my first time talking online other than my introduction so I apologize if its to long.

For as long as I can remember I've always felt a disconnection with other people. I hear them make conversation so quickly, even about the most ridiculous things and yet they manage to intrigue each other, make each other laugh and create relationships. Envy would be the right word to use. I wish there was a more lighthearted way to put my feelings but I've come to terms with the fact that I envy these people and the ease at which they are accepted. I use to carry so much self-loathing for not being able to adapt socially with groups of people, and after years I just started to grow numb. Now I am very comfortable with isolation and can spend days without holding a conversation with others inside my apartment, this terrifies me.

This is not to say that I can't talk to people, I am very friendly and have made great efforts to be as respectful and accepting towards others. However I have recently stopped caring for most things in my life and that includes social obligations. After years of tying my self-worth to my achievements and success in the classroom, and after years of failing to commit to things, focusing on the task at hand and completing assignments, I can no longer find and respect for myself. I enter a classroom and feel as if everyone has lost respect for me because I've proven time and time again that I am the weakest student, the one who can't manage to get his life on track. In a relentlessly tough and changing major like mine, who wants to have any level of understanding for someone as incompetent as that?

(This part is very embarrassing and often hard for me to admit) I have found that I am more concerned with finding love rather than finding friendships. I suppose I am just trying to find a way to fill that acceptance that I deeply crave.