View Full Version : My daughter won't zip up her jacket.

Scottish Victor
05-09-16, 10:14 PM
Hi, I am Victoria and am new to this forum.

I have a 7yr old daughter Kara who has ADHD.

She will quite happily wear her jacket but she will not zip it up when its horrible weather, I have to zip it for her and explain why I'm zipping it but she takes a tantrum.

aeon
05-09-16, 10:26 PM
Consider that it may not be opposition, or forgetfulness, but because on a sensory level it feels very unpleasant to her.

I say this because as a child I hated any garment with any degree of “bind,” whether it be a sweater or closed jacket.

Cheers,
Ian

Scottish Victor
05-09-16, 10:30 PM
So what is the alternative because I need her protected from the poor weather.

Simargl
05-09-16, 11:09 PM
Yeah, it could be the process as well. She has to stop, stand there and be zipped up. It might seem like a small thing but in that moment, it's overwhelming.

I am by no means a child expert. I'm just trying to put myself in that situation and recall how I might've reacted.

stef
05-10-16, 02:08 AM
Is her coat a little tiight? Or close fitting? Does the zipper touch her neck directly?
I agree shes probably not just being stubborn she may absolutely hatethe feeling of the zipped coat...
I hate these things myself i need just a certain type of jacket. It cant be fitted or trench coat style.

If shes ok with shopping why not make a kind of fun outing and help her choose a new one? Or something with both snaps or velcro , and a zipper. And a soft lining.

Little Nut
05-10-16, 08:31 AM
Any chance Kara just wants to be contrary? "Ma and other adults always have her zip-up her jacket outside." Nothing bad, just a little bit of the forbidden fruit for a 7 year old.

TygerSan
05-10-16, 10:07 AM
So what is the alternative because I need her protected from the poor weather.