View Full Version : Newly diagnosed, taking Vyvanse

Pez814
05-10-16, 09:31 AM
Hello one and all, I am 35 year old male, and was recently diagnosed with ADHD. Part of my thinks I have had it my whole life, but it was never officially diagnosed. I was put on Vyvanse for 2 reasons, the first is for my ADHD, and second to help treat me Binge Eating Disorder. This is my first time ever taking a stimulant medication, and I did 2 tester doses in the beginning, I was on 30, 50, and 70 mg. I tried each one out and the 30mg did not really do much, and the 70 was too much, so I tried the 50 mg and was doing quite well on it for a bit. I was like a new man, on autopilot knocking out tasks and for the first time in years I was motivated to do things around the house, and I was also losing weight. Then after a few weeks I would get off of work and just be exhausted, and have no energy, and have to fight to stay awake. I had no idea why all of a sudden I went from boundless energy to lethargy and a huge crash. I looked online and found that although Vyvanse could last 12-14 hours there is a chance it could fizzle out in about 6-8 hours. Well I guessed that is what was happening to me so I called my doctor and spoke with her, and she upped my dosage to 70mg. I have been taking the 70 for a couple months now, and have recently noticed the initial rush of energy and autopilot like focus of knocking out tasks has dwindled away. My appetite is also slowing coming back, I have lost 26 pounds since February, I still eat but the amount I eat and my urge to binge has greatly diminished. Since this is my first medication of its kind I have ever taken, I am just scared that it is going to stop working, or become less effective. I just do not want to backslide and go back to how things were before I was diagnosed because that life was miserable. I tried to look and find answer in a Google search but I can not find what it is I was looking for there. Over time does your body accept the medica